Our Leadership

We feel fortunate to have a passionate team with deep experience across many fields.

Blue Banner

John Goodell

Outreach & Community Relations Director

John Goodell is a conservation biologist and conservation educator with experience in a wide array of disciplines including wildlife monitoring, conservation planning, habitat restoration, and natural history interpretation. 

He is the Past-President of the Oregon Chapter of The Wildlife Society

Our Board

Robert Bailey


Bob spent nearly 40 years in coastal and ocean planning and management for the State of Oregon. He also served as a City Commissioner for the City of Oregon City, a member of the City of Salem Budget Committee, and chair of the Oregon Wave Energy Trust.

Alicia LeDuc


Alicia is an attorney in Portland with a focus on organizational governance and financial matters.  She brings her passion for the Northwest, her prior conservation experience with Oregon Spotted Frogs and Taylor’s Checkerspot Butterflies, and her business insights to support the Alliance as Board Treasurer.

Cameron La Follette


Cameron is Executive Director of Oregon Coast Alliance, a coastal conservation organization. She has worked in coastal protection for fifteen years, including managing the Coastal Futures Project for 1000 Friends of Oregon. She also served on the Salem Planning Commission for three years, and has a law degree from Columbia University.

Roberta Hall

Bobbi (Roberta) focused on evolution and human biology in doctoral research at the University of Oregon. Serving on the faculty at the University of Victoria, B.C., introduced her to coastal native peoples and ecosystems. At Oregon State University, she responded to an invitation to help the Coquille Indian Tribe with research on their prehistory. This led to many rich experiences, including involvement with the Alliance.

Peter Hatch

Peter is a member of the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians, and works in the tribe’s Cultural Resources office. He’s been fishing, clamming and crabbing in Lincoln County his entire life, and wants to ensure that his descendants can always do the same.

Don Ivy

Don is a lifelong Oregonian and member of the Coquille Indian Tribe (pronounced “ko-kwel”) of Coquille Athapaskan, Miluk Coos and Choctaw-Chickasaw ancestry. Since 1997 he has devoted his career to protecting Coquille cultural heritage and natural resources, and has been honored to serve as Chief of the Coquille Tribal Council since 2014.

Robert Kentta

Robert is a member of the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians, of Shasta and Dakubetede descent. He’s always had a passion for protecting and restoring the species that make our region special. He has managed the tribe’s cultural resources program for more than twenty five years, and proudly serves on the elected member of the Tribal Council. 

Claire Puchy

Claire Puchy had a long career in natural resources conservation.  Arriving in Oregon from Ohio in 1978, she was a natural resources specialist with the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development.  She was Executive Director of the Portland Audubon Society and the Columbia River Gorge Commission, and headed up the State’s Wildlife Diversity (formerly nongame) Program for the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife.  Before retiring, she worked in the City of Portland’s Science, Fish and Wildlife Program.  Claire has served on boards of many non-profit organizations, including the Oregon Wildlife Foundation.  She was also appointed to the Legislative Task Force on Fish, Wildlife & Outdoor Recreation Funding by Governor Brown.

David Shepherdson

David is the former Deputy Director of Conservation at the Oregon Zoo (retired) and Past-President of the Oregon Chapter of The Wildlife Society. David is a recognized expert in animal behavioral enrichment, while also leading, coordinating, and implementing species recovery programs at the Oregon Zoo over a 30 year career.

Paul Sherman

Paul lives on Cape Sebastian, where he enjoys taking in the wonders of Oregon’s incomparable South Coast. He is a professor emeritus of Biology at Cornell University, where he served from 1981 to 2013, producing defining research on animal behavior and behavioral ecology in birds, insects, and mammals.

Avalyn Taylor

Avalyn is an attorney and recognized expert in environmental policy and law in governmental, nonprofits, and private sectors. Avalyn acquired significant experience in environmental policy and federal government relations while serving as policy counsel in the Louisiana Governor’s Office of Coastal Activities, later working in public policy and government relations for the Nature Conservancy. She also worked as a field representative for a U.S. congressional representative on natural resources and environmental issues.

Our Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is comprised of a diverse assemblage individuals with expertise and unique perspectives, who provide key guidance to the Elakha Alliance.

  • James Bodkin, Biologist Emeritus, US Geological Survey
  • Bill Bradbury, Former State Senator, Secretary of State
  • Doug Deur, Professor of Cultural Anthropology, Portland State University
  • James Estes, Emeritus sea otter ecologist, US Fish and Wildlife Service
  • Jean Flemma, Former staff, US House Natural Resources Committee
  • Jane Hartline, Oregon Conservation and Recreation Fund board member
  • Paul Henson, State Supervisor, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  • Marcus Hinz, Exec. Director Oregon Coast Visitor Association
  • Harry Hoogesteger, Retired Director, Curry Watersheds Council
  • Phillip Johnson, Exec. Director, Oregon Shores Conservation Coalition
  • Dave Lacey, Owner, South Coast Tours, LLC.
  • Mark Labhart, retired Tillamook Co. Commissioner, current ODFW Commissioner
  • Shawn Larson, Curator of Conservation Research Seattle Aquarium
  • Todd Mabee, Environmental Consultant
  • Trish Mace, Director, Univ of Oregon Marine Life Center
  • Deb Merchant, Consultant, Banner Non-Profits, LLC.
  • Kerry Morgan, Education Director, Oregon Coast Aquarium,
  • Danielle Moser, Wildlife Program Coordinator, Oregon Wild
  • Michael O’Casey, Oregon Chapter The Wildlife Society Board Member, and Oregon Representative for the Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership
  • Charlie Plybon, State Director, Surfrider Foundation
  • Annie Pollard, Co-owner, 7 Devils Brewing
  • Richard Ravalli, Professor of History, Jessup University
  • John Savage, Willamette Valley Chapter Native Plant Society of Oregon
  • Keith Tymchuck, Port of Umpqua Commissioner, former Mayor, Reedsport
  • Chris West, Biologist, Yurok Tribe
  • Bree Yednock, Manager, South Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve